It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:10 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Pseudo-Biblicism article on Wikipedia
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:30 pm 
Sunbeam

Hi all,

I'm an amateur when it comes to pseudo-biblicism, but I've been learning a lot through the study of The Late War and other books that my brother and I found through algorithmic analysis last year. I thought it was a shame that this really interesting and relevant-to-Mormonism corner of America's literary history didn't have a spot on Wikipedia. I think many people would be benefitted by having an accurate and concise overview of what it is.

I posted https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pseudo-Biblicism and the most recent comment from an editor there indicates more citations are needed to verify the article. I admit I'm not an expert in this area. Also, I know it's a pain to edit Wikipedia articles. But is anyone here willing to take a stab at expanding the article (or shrinking, if that's appropriate) so that we can get a good overview for general internet readership? Have you read American Zion? Know of other expert sources for this topic?

Thanks,
Duane

Post subject: Re: Pseudo-Biblicism article on Wikipedia
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:17 pm 
God

Hi Duane,

I'm glad to see you created a Wikipedia page for Michael Linning. However, I noticed that his birth and death dates are incorrect. According to my notes, he was born on 24 September 1774 and christened on 4 October 1774 at Lesmahagow, Lanarkshire. He died at Chryston Cottage in Cadder Parish, Lanarkshire (near Glasgow) on 17 February 1838 (see The Fife Herald, 1 March 1838, p. 3).

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:09 am 
Sunbeam

Thanks, Nevo. I'll take a look. The dates I have are from the History of the Society of Writers. It sounds like your date is more accurate. Do you have a source on the date of birth?